• August

    Fear is created when there is a perception of something to be lost or irreversibly damaged. It can be a person, object, money, or self image.

    Some say we fear success more than failure. Failure we know. Failure we can imagine in detail. Most of use are living in a life where we’ve tried and failed. But what would success look like? Success is not real until we invest in it. It’s like the holiday we are dreaming of that doesn’t become a reality until we purchase the ticket.

    Fear is fueled by negative emotions. It keeps us stagnant in our lives. Paralyzed. Fear keeps us dreaming and not in reality.

    There are 3 main obstacles that lead to sustained negative emotions:

    1. Ignorance
    2. Rigidity or unwillingness to change
    3. Learnedness or knowing more than others

    Ignorance and confusion arise with the inability to see consequences of your actions. Karma is a pivotal concept to create mindfulness.

    Ignorance is born from 2 unawarenesses:

    1. Unawareness of cause and effect
    2. Unawareness of true nature– The true nature of an emotion, object or person requires no participation on your part. Not your thoughts, judgements or biases. It is meaningless.

    Are you conscious of the karma you accumulate?
    Are you able to confidently live your life without fear?
    Have you lived your life without intentionally harming any beings?

    Attachment, pride, aggression, anger, jealousy, inflation, exaggeration and fear all come about from ignorance. We’ve complicated life. We’ve forgotten the foundations of kindness and generosity in action.

    If you have become dependent on religion, meditation and/or philosophy but disregard the actual act of loving kindness, then transformation and transcendence is lost. You are no better than the person who has no knowledge of those teachings.

    What is the purpose of your practice?


    I’ll follow up on my last post on Transforming Negative Emotions, if you missed reading it you can find it here.

    Her Eminence Jetsun Khandro Rinpoche is a Tibetan Buddhist Nun who travels to North America, Europe and Asia to teach. If you’ve never heard her speak, I’d recommend watching a video (here). She recently visited Toronto. These are her teachings.

    The 7 Buddhist Jewels

    The 7 Buddhist Jewels are a guide to living generously, confidently and without fear with others and the world we live in:

    1. Cultivate Compassion
      Without discernment, bias or discrimination, show unconditional love for all sentient beings (or unenlightened beings). If you have conflict with another person, it is not their issue but your own. You are therefore responsible for transforming the issue into patience and tolerance. If you are unable, sit with the issue. Be genuine with the experience as not to exaggerate or participate in the negative emotions. Sharpen your qualities of compassion with practice, effort and dedication.
    2. Determine actions and ideas based on intelligence (right/ wrong and their consequences)– NOT emotions
      Cultivate constructive actions. Emotions drive guilt, neuroses and hinder peace of mind. Ask yourself– What is the right thing? VS What would I like to do? Don’t indulge in negativity.
    3. Honesty within one’s own discernment
      Being honest in your own practice is your foundation. For example, if you choose to dedicate one hour a day to meditation, stick to it. Be accountable for your practice. There is a balance between self criticism and creating excuses. Neither extremes are healthy or contribute to a successful practice. Don’t dwell on discouraging thoughts, rather look to the actual outcomes.
    4. Cultivate Virtue
      At the end of the day, sit and look at all the virtues you’ve accumulated in that day. We often think we are doing more good than in reality. Sometimes it is the opposite. In that case, acknowledge yourself and continue to expand your generosity. Writing in a journal at night is a great way to reflect on your day so you can start to become more mindful.
    5. Quality is Courage
      Positive karma is living without intentionally harming anyone. This brings courage and confidence that there isn’t anything to fear. Create good virtue through your actions. Take refuge in knowing yourself.
    6. Mindful of Impermanence
      This too shall pass. Nothing in life is forever. Let all situations pass freely and appreciate the impermanence of all things: thoughts, emotions, cravings, experiences, objects and people.
    7. Recognize External and Internal Emotions to be Selfless
      The true nature of your emotional state has no attachments. It does not involve the self. It is selfless. Selfishness creates pain. If pain is present, question what is causing it. What are you holding on to? What emotions are you exaggerating?


    True emotions are never negative. When we blame or hold on to our emotions it gives them the power to fuel fear. Fear clouds our judgement and reality. Fear strangulates opportunities.  Negative emotions exaggerates the pain and suffering of failure and loss.

    Having the courage to live fearlessly stems from cultivating good karma. Write out these 7 Buddhist Jewels to remind yourself each day. We are never truly in control of life since nothing is permanent. Find comfort in impermanence. What are you really fearful of if nothing is permanent anyways?

    If you are living a fearless life, challenge yourself with the 5 Buddhist Stones. Want to know more? Sign-up for my email list, at the sidebar to the right, and I’ll send you new articles as soon as they are available.

    If you enjoyed this post, please share it. Just use the buttons below.

This website is NOT to be used as a diagnostic or treatment tool. Always consult with your Conventional Medical Doctor or Naturopathic Doctor for specific concerns. In cases of medical emergencies visit your nearest hospital or call 9-1-1.